Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Anybody grow up with a future pro?
(01-04-2017, 04:11 PM)McC Wrote: Not sure where to put this so I'll stick it here and let the chips fall where they will.

Has anybody ever played alongside someone who went on to become a pro athlete?  My question is---how much better than everyone else is a future pro?

The best I ever played with seemed pretty good but none of them were anywhere near pro caliber.  I'm just trying to imagine what these kind of guys look like in HS.

I'm thinking mainly football but any sport would be relevant.

I went to school with this guy.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tommy_Jones_(quarterback)

Don't remember much of him I was a freshman and he was a senior. I mean coming from a small town, Tommy Jones was obviously the talk of the town. Your typical high school star quarterback story. I didn't follow his career, I knew he went to IU and then went on to be an UDFA for the Bengals. Last thing I heard he was back in that small town selling insurance or something.

When I was in high school I worked for my grandmother who was a professional photographer. Well she was contracted to do the Miami (Ohio) University athletes, and I helped her do a few shoots of the football teams in which Pig Ben was on, and the basketball teams Wally Szczerbiak was on.
[Image: s4ed9rgnqb251.jpg]
Reply/Quote
I just realized that I concentrated more on saying who I played with instead of answering the original question..."How did these guys look growing up."

Allen Wenglekowski was a good athlete in high school, but was not All State in anything. I never imagined he would play in the NFL. But he got really big in college.