Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 2 Average
Are we going to war?
(07-19-2023, 09:36 AM)Nately120 Wrote: So if you could wave a magic wand and have been born in any year, what would you choose?

I don't hate the generation I'm in. But if I could change it, maybe being born in the 50's. I was born in 1967, so I missed out on some really good stuff and disco was just becoming popular. Didn't care for disco. Well, except for Funky Town. I liked Funky Town. 

[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
(07-19-2023, 09:38 AM)bengalfan74 Wrote: I have no idea if it's still true? Everything has changed lately, understatement of the century huh? But it used to be all "regular" enlistments were for 8 years. 4 active 4 inactive reserve. I'm no expert on this but I believe you could also sign up in certain MOS's and such for 6 years, 2 regular active, 2 active reserve (the weekend warriors) and 2 inactive reserve.

But yes I believe a war of some type, somewhere, is on the horizon. Just too much crap going on! The tipping point is probably really close. 

Regardless if we're accurate, we're pretty darn close.  Cool 

Reply/Quote
(07-19-2023, 10:07 AM)HarleyDog Wrote: I don't hate the generation I'm in. But if I could change it, maybe being born in the 50's. I was born in 1967, so I missed out on some really good stuff and disco was just becoming popular. Didn't care for disco. Well, except for Funky Town. I liked Funky Town. 

Yes you did. I was 16 in 1967. Disco was popular 10 years later, signaling national downfall in musical taste.

Beatles and Stones dominated the rock music scene.  Soul and Blues were reaching a mass white audience.

Bob Dylan, Jefferson Airplane, Janis Joplin, Grateful Dead. Pink Floyd. Sly and the Family Stone. Ike and Tina.
Jimi Hendrix--well, Woodstock. nuff said.

Yardbirds were prepping Clapton and Page for a great run in the '70s.

Pop diversity and innovation were incredible, compared to the 50s.  
Reply/Quote