Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bragging online
So I just had a really good experience and I'd love to tell people about it, but when I star to do something like that here or on facebook I feel like I am just bragging.

I don't mind bragging to immediate family, but even with my best friends I feel a little awkward initiating a conversation about a personal accomplishment.  The only way I really feel comfortable is if I can naturally work it into a conversation.  For example I never tell anyone I am an attorney until they ask what I do something about the legal system or law comes up in a conversation.

But when I read posts by other people I often don't think badly of them for bragging (unless it is some asshole know-it-all).  I usually am glad to hear good news about anything.

How do you guys feel about making a thread or facebook post just to announce something you did?
Reply/Quote
(03-07-2019, 05:57 PM)fredtoast Wrote: So I just had a really good experience and I'd love to tell people about it, but when I star to do something like that here or on facebook I feel like I am just bragging.

I don't mind bragging to immediate family, but even with my best friends I feel a little awkward initiating a conversation about a personal accomplishment.  The only way I really feel comfortable is if I can naturally work it into a conversation.  For example I never tell anyone I am an attorney until they ask what I do something about the legal system or law comes up in a conversation.

But when I read posts by other people I often don't think badly of them for bragging (unless it is some asshole know-it-all).  I usually am glad to hear good news about anything.

How do you guys feel about making a thread or facebook post just to announce something you did?