Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Buying a refurbished desktop
It's been years since my last desktop. I've been messing with my pretty decent G6 phone for the past several years, but I'm thinking about a Dell optiplex 9010 business machine (from about 2012 or thereabouts) since my budget is probably well under $200. I want nothing to do with any home computer anymore with its extensive bloatware.
I've been looking at several and for around $120 or thereabouts I can get one (SFF desktop) with around a 250GB hdd, 4 GB ram, i5 processor.. For that price I can easily upgrade ram and even go with a SSD drive a little later on down the road.. 
The old junk I'm currently fiddling with is an old Compaq, 500 GB hdd, 2 G ram with a tin can and string processor.. I could yank out the HDD and the dvd drive from it then only worry about the ram upgrade.. Right now it's running only Fedora 19 and it's about as slow as it can get.. 

Anyways.. just thinking about it. I don't want anything that's ever been in someone's home and really don't care for windows unless it's the business version. The one I'm considering has Win10 pro version, but I'll very likely run a dual boot with Debian Linux and leave the windows to the old woman since she's unfamiliar with linux.. 

Any solid refurbishers anyone is familiar with? 
In the immortal words of my old man, "Wait'll you get to be my age!"

Chicago sounds rough to the maker of verse, but the one comfort we have is Cincinnati sounds worse. ~Oliver Wendal Holmes Sr.

[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
Hello,