Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Checking accounts
I've had several checking accounts over the years with several banks. All but one always seemed to find a way to skin me of my hard earned bucks..
When I was in Columbus a few years back living in a homeless shelter after leaving Texas I received a small windfall from the state of Texas in the form of a refund from filing for workers compensation.. Anyway, I needed to open a checking account just to access the funds. A few banks refused to even talk to me since the amount was only about $350 and most wanted me to deposit much more to avoid high fees. There was one exception, USBank on the corner of High Street and Broad Street in downtown Columbus. I opened the checking account and since I'm also a veteran I've never been charged an ATM fee anywhere, not even other banks ATM's. Actually that's not true. I do get charged to use other banks ATM's, but USBank always refunds those fees back to my account making them all free. In fact, I've never had to pay any fees to USBank despite my low balances and they make it really easy to transfer funds from checking to savings and so forth, back and forth..
So here's my suggestion. If you're a veteran head to your nearest USBank and talk to the teller or whoever is in charge of opening new accounts and make sure to take your veteran status papers with you if you have them...DD214 works so there are no hidden fees taken out of your accounts..