Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Colts/Texans
Lots of occupations are dangerous and some pay well and some don't. If you worked in a coal mine for example, would you like if there were no safeguards in place? I knew quite a few miners when I was a kid who were really screwed up from lack of basic safety controls. Several years ago I worked as an industrial spray painter and they offered very little in ways of safeguards so I ended up completely numb from both elbows and knees down for several years and have problems with neuropathy to this day. Back then I shot over 70 gallons of oil based paint per week on my own. The same company now limits painters to 8 gallons per week and they're supplied with full body suits and fresh air systems and are required to have a blood gas test every month.
I knew the hazards of the job back then, but I was young and dumb enough to subject myself to it. Just because someone is young and dumb enough to do a job doesn't excuse an employer from the responsibility for the employee. Teams and the league are responsible to these young men to ensure that once they're out of the league they aren't beat up to the point where they can no longer feed their families. Call it what you like, but it's still highly exploitive and young men and women will always forgo their health and well being for short term financial gain.
In the immortal words of my old man, "Wait'll you get to be my age!"

Chicago sounds rough to the maker of verse, but the one comfort we have is Cincinnati sounds worse. ~Oliver Wendal Holmes Sr.

[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
(10-10-2015, 12:13 PM)StLucieBengal Wrote: I think it's pretty well known that you could have serious issues while playing.   When I played they made sure we knew about this every year.    
Besides these are adults, if they want to work in a high risk enviornment then that's their choice.   They are well compensated for that risk.