Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
End of fracking.....economic impact to United States
(04-12-2016, 03:35 AM)Brownshoe Wrote: I think that ending fracking would be a bad idea. I'm a pretty pro-fracking guy, but I think that it does need to be well regulated. A lot of the bad effects of fracking (like the increase of earthquakes) actually isn't from fracking, but it's from the wastewater when they're done fracking and putting it back into the ground. The EPA, and the UKs version of the EPA both cleared fracking of having widespread and systematic pollution of drinking water. There are examples of this happening, but it can be avoided by being well regulated.

Personally I think that the pros more than make up for the cons of fracking. Fracking provides us with MUCH cheaper energy / fuel, and it reduces our carbon footprint by half when natural gas replaces coal power plants. Plus close to every problem with it can be avoided if it's well regulated.

Regulation reduces the profit, so it will never happen.

So right now we are talking about massive uncontrollable earthquakes versus cheap gas.

Plus the EPA did NOT clear fracking of contaminating drinking water.  In fact they found that it did cause contamination of drinking water.

The agency found “specific instances” where the integrity of fracked wells or the handling of wastewater ended up affecting drinking water. 

The EPA said in a release that its analysis “shows that while hydraulic fracturing activities in the U.S. are carried out in a way that have not led to widespread, systemic impacts on drinking water resources, there are potential vulnerabilities in the water lifecycle that could impact drinking water.”
(04-12-2016, 12:07 PM)fredtoast Wrote: Regulation reduces the profit, so it will never happen.

So right now we are talking about massive uncontrollable earthquakes versus cheap gas.