Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
How Is Covid Coming Back?
I keep seeing all these articles saying Covid is coming back and I see people in videos wearing masks again, but hasn't everyone had it by now, meaning they have antibodies?

Do antibodies not protect against the new variants?

I see that people are getting vaccinated again, but is it even needed?
Reply/Quote
(10-04-2023, 01:58 PM)BFritz21 Wrote: I keep seeing all these articles saying Covid is coming back and I see people in videos wearing masks again, but hasn't everyone had it by now, meaning they have antibodies?

I am by no means a medical professional or medical expert, but here are my two cents:

People wearing masks isn't too surprising to me. It's an easy option that provides some help with zero real negatives. As for why Covid is still around, I think it is the natural progression of an influenza disease. It is always going to be around, as influenza viruses change over time with their different strains and mutations. I'd imagine that now that we have a better idea of what Covid is and how it is acting (the "unknown" factor was, necessarily, a big part of the pandemic) along with better treatment options and vaccines it will continue to approach being "just another flu". In a couple years' time it wouldn't surprise me if there is a unified flu vaccine that gets offered every year rather than the two that are being suggested now. But for the time being there is no harm in taking extra precautions like boosters and vaccines.

I still, at least to my knowledge, have not had Covid yet. 
[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
(10-04-2023, 01:58 PM)BFritz21 Wrote: I keep seeing all these articles saying Covid is coming back and I see people in videos wearing masks again, but hasn't everyone had it by now, meaning they have antibodies?