Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How Will My Crippled Swimsuit Calendar Do?
When I'm presenting and kids ask me what I do for a living, I always say "I go around to schools and colleges and places and do this sort of thing and then I'm also a part-time speedo model."

It always gets lots of laughs, but, lately, I figured why not make a swimsuit calendar of disabled people? It could have their pictures, along with their stories, and then just something about them that's interesting.

At the very least, I figured that I could sell it to hospitals and rehabilitation centers, as well as in local stores because people in the area LOVE the idea and have already offered their help and many people have said they'll buy it.

Is it a good idea? I think normalizing something like people in wheelchairs and swimsuits could draw a lot of interest because it would help to remove the stigma and just show crippled people hanging out like everyone else (I obviously won't be able to use the word "crippled" because so many people are offended by it).

And then I thought "why stop there?" and so I decided that I'm going to try to make one with army vets that are missing limbs because I think it will also help just show them as more normal people (don't get me wrong: I'm NOWHERE NEAR as big of a bad-ass as a vet).

I'd obviously like to give the models a little something for participating, but then I'd like to donate most of the proceeds to charities (helping vets with the money from that one, obviously).

Do you think this idea is a good one? Do you think it could do well? Do you think it could go big, like nationwide?
Reply/Quote
You're so late to the game, Brad. Strongman and Crossfit have events for disabled people, most of them tend to be wounded warriors missing limbs.