Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
IDF Solider - Fan of the Decade?
(This guy wins my vote for Fan of the Decade)
http://www.cincyjungle.com/2016/10/6/13169304/idf-soldier-shares-story-of-bengals-fandom-while-enlisted-in-israel

A few weeks ago, Cincy Jungle was contacted by an Israeli soldier who claims to be the No. 1 Bengals fan in the world. And that just might be true. Here’s his remarkable story, detailing life as a Bengals fan in the Israeli army, as told to Cincy Jungle.

My name is Jacob Hammer and I am 21-years-old. I was born in Jerusalem, Israel. I grew up in a city just outside of Jerusalem, to English speaking parents and spoke English throughout my childhood at home as well as with friends and in my neighborhood.

Currently, I am a soldier in the Israel Defense Forces (IDF) training to become a sergeant in the Nachal Brigade, which is an infantry unit (combat foot soldier). Ever since I was a little kid in Israel, I had been playing and following baseball. We had a league in our city where we played every week. In 2005, my parents decided to move to Columbus, Ohio for a few years, and that's where the story of my Bengals fandom began.

I started watching football on TV in Ohio and the team that was on every Sunday was the Bengals. It happened to be the year that the Bengals went 11-5, in 2005, and I was completely hooked! My father is a huge Jets fan; he grew up in New York and all of his life had been following the Jets. He would watch all of the Bengals games with me, and together, we started following the team very seriously. We went to a few games that year and had an absolute blast. I couldn’t take my eyes off of the team, literally. When I came back to Israel, I started playing football in the Israel Football League (IFL) as a tight end, which is a full contact league. And, in addition to that, played in the Israel Flag Football league. I watched all of the Bengals games, every single year and haven't missed one single game!