Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
In A Showdown With The Program I Present Through
If anyone has ever been effected by suicide or lost a loved one to suicide, you may not want to read this thread. I had my own battles with thoughts of suicide, so I don't look down on them or anything. As tough as a life as I've had, I know that people fight their own battles that I can't even imagine.

I've been presenting to high schools, public and private, for over fifteen years and have never had a problem with mentioning God or my thoughts on suicide.

The God part is never an issue because it's not coming from the school and it's just my thoughts on God and how I struggled with God's existence and feeling like He hated me, so it's not like I'm preaching or anything.

When I first started with this program, the ladies in charge took my presentation and butchered it to fit their liking and it just sounded stupid and like nothing kids could relate to. As the years have gone on, if they needed me to make a specialized version of my presentation to fit the crowd or the situation, I have done so, but they always just do it themselves and then say they needed it by a certain deadline. Their versions always sound stupid. Keep in mind that none of these ladies majored in communications or anything of the sort in college that would qualify them as experts on public speaking.

Kids always stay after to ask more questions, tell me how much my presentation meant to them, get selfies, and whatever else, so it's obviously well-received. I also continually get asked to the same schools every year and then also new schools.