Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
You ever look at a globe or world map?
(11-10-2018, 01:26 AM)Bengalzona Wrote: My dad was on the troop train heading for San Fran on his way to Korea. They laid over at Flagstaff. Flagstaff is near Humphrey's Peak, a mountain. My dad's buddy said to him, "Hey! Let's head over to the mountain. It's just right over there!". So they set out on foot.

Two hours later, they turned around and headed back.

For the rest of his life, that became one of my dad's favorite joke sayings.... "Hey! It's just right over there!"

As a Surveyor, I literally draw maps for a living, both planimetric and topographic.  Having been in the profession long enough to work both sides of the trade, in the field collecting information, and in the office drawing up said information; I've grown a great appreciation for small details on maps that most lay people would simply overlook.  Some of the responses in here humor me, as maps can sometimes be quite confusing to the conceptually challenged individual.  For anyone venturing out on foot, and attempting to navigate by map and compass for the first time, I would strongly suggest doing a bit of research on how to properly read a map.
[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]

Volson is meh, but I like him, and he has far exceeded my expectations

-Frank Booth 1/9/23
Reply/Quote