Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
D.C. Statehood and why it's problematic
We've obviously had discussions on this topic, on multiple occasions. I read this article on Politico which I thought it would be an interesting read for those of you who otherwise would not have come across it. It's clearly labeled to attract Bel, so I'm posting it for that reason alone.

Your All-Purpose Wonk’s Guide to Why D.C. Statehood Is So Hard

https://www.politico.com/news/magazine/2021/05/16/washington-dc-statehood-guide-constitutional-workaround-political-obstacles-488349
Reply/Quote
I’m in the, yes Puerto Rico/Guam (if they want it) and no D.C. group.
Reply/Quote
Having Don and Melania choose three electors would have been worth it.
“History teaches that grave threats to liberty often come in times of urgency, when constitutional rights seem too extravagant to endure.”-Thurgood Marshall

[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
This is actually why I'm not a proponent of the federal enclave, route, actually. The amount of autonomy I advocate for DC is actually a small amount, not more than what it has now, to be honest. The only part I advocate for is that the residents of DC have representation in Congress. Now, for the sake of this particular article, I could formulate an argument in favor of carving out this enclave.

Article I, Section 8, Clause 17 lays out the authority of Congress over DC. However, DC is limited to ten square miles. Herein lies the problem with arguments that making DC a state is unconstitutional according to this clause. The current DC, which is smaller than it was at its creation because Virginia demanded their part back, is 68.34 square miles. So, really, constitutionally, Congress should not have the authority it has over 58.34 square miles of the district. I could argue that not only would a federal enclave be prudent, it would be absolutely essential given the unconstitutional nature of the current governance of the district.