Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Should Catholic voters support Democrats?
This was shared on Facebook by a gentleman that I went to high school with (He was a senior when I was a freshman but his brother and my sister graduated together).  He is also an ex-priest.

I realize it is almost two years old but I thought it was worth sharing as an opposing view to the oft proposed believe that no Catholic should vote for anyone who supports abortion rights.

https://www.patheos.com/blogs/scottericalt/what-ratzinger-and-the-cdf-really-said-about-voting-for-pro-choice-candidates/?fbclid=IwAR2CpxKsxqwBkIxrMoEOL3PagKI36-soGCJ_SNksLDKPRDJpl_1JOlKcQ20

Quote:What Ratzinger and the CDF Really Said About Voting for Pro-Choice Candidates.
 OCTOBER 21, 2018 BY SCOTT ERIC ALT

It’s not what you may have heard. Death Site News is promoting the words of Fr. Mark Goring; he says that “The blood of these unborn children is on your hands if you vote for and support an aggressively pro-abortion politician.”

This is false. The Church nowhere teaches that a person who votes for a pro-choice Democrat incurs the guilt of abortion.

Now, in 2004, the CDF—with Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger as its prefect—put out a document entitled “Worthiness to Receive Holy Communion: General Principles.” In this document, the CDF says that Catholics may not:
  • Propagandize in favor of abortion
  • Support laws permitting abortion
In terms of voting for political candidates, the CDF says this:

Quote:
A Catholic would be guilty of formal cooperation in evil, and so unworthy to present himself for Holy Communion, if he were to deliberately vote for a candidate precisely because of the candidate’s permissive stand on abortion and/or euthanasia. When a Catholic does not share a candidate’s stand in favour of abortion and/or euthanasia, but votes for that candidate for other reasons, it is considered remote material cooperation, which can be permitted in the presence of proportionate reasons.