Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Iran deal
Disclaimer, I'm not an expert on the deal, chances are it's a flawed one, I wouldn't dare say.

But if Trump blows it up today, that would be a severe sign to the world that a contract with the US isn't worth negotiating in the first place. It would mean your political parties stand so fundamentally opposed that one can't reach an agreement with the USA, just with one of your parties. With great chances the other party doesn't respect it, based on facts or just based on principle.

I also would expect this a weakening of Trump's position towards North Korea, because what exactly should Kim fancy about any agreement that might not be worth the time and the paper to begin with. Similar goes for other countries like Europe. Trump would severly insult allies and there just can't be any other reaction as regarding the US as an unreliable player that can no longer be trusted. (The Kurds tell us that for a long time now.) I don't want to overstate things, but I can't see any other reaction.

I'm certain the US can still bully through and be fine, but nevertheless I believe the US would weaken itself for the foreseeable future on the world stage. It would also make the world less safe. For starters, I can't imagine Iran not trying to get the bomb as soon as possible after that one, other countries probably following that path.

Discuss :)
[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
If it was just a deal between the US and Iran it would not be as bad. But the Obama administration put together a large coalition of countries in order to get the sanctions required to force Iran into the deal. Some of those countries were hurt financially more than the US by cutting off business ties with Iran.

If we break this deal it will not be just Iran claiming we are evil and untrustworthy (they were already doing that anyway). It will also be all the countries that the prior administration got to work with us.