Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What field are you in?
What do you like most about it?

What do you like least about it?

Was this your chosen field or did you just end up there by circumstance?

Anybody own a business?

I am a concrete contractor, three employees and me.  Four families depending on me.  This can get a little scary sometimes. I get any kind of a lull and I don't sleep at night.  This is the only real downside.  Well, that and the destruction to my body over thirty five years.  In a perfect world, I would have found my replacement five years ago. 

I guess the other down side is how hard it is to find help.  I swear, in ten years, there will be nobody to pour concrete left.  Young guys just don't want to work that hard.

Best part--Love the finished product, right there in front of you for all to see.  

This is far from my chosen field.  I have two degrees I have barely used.  But as the saying goes--Man plans, God laughs.
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.” ― Albert Einstein

http://www.reverbnation.com/leftyohio  singersongwriterrocknroll

Reply/Quote
I am a Human Resources Manager

What I like most about it is that I serve and work to develop Soldiers

What I like least about it is doing written evaluations for my employees

It was/is my chosen field as I still serve the Military and the youth of my Country. I simply used the College Benefits earned as an Active Duty Soldier to get the advanced education required to progress in the Civilian sector.
[Image: bfine-guns2.png]

[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
I am a court interpreter for Connecticut's Judicial Branch.

I like the variety, as I get to work on criminal, civil, and juvenile cases, and really learn a lot. I might transition and get a law degree sometime in the future.

Besides the benefits of being in public service, I like the fact that when I leave at five, work stays at work and doesn't follow me home.