Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why is it inhumane
(03-20-2016, 12:41 PM)BengalsRocker Wrote: C'mon don't be oblivious to what's happening here.  Being a lawyer you should know what prison is about... I'd hope.

I work with ex-cons but certainly am no expert.  They do give you some insight though.  Again something you should know.
Yes.  I am a criminal defense attorney so I know a lot about the criminal justice system.

For example I know that what you are suggesting has been tried in the past and it failed.  Plus it would cost more money.

That is why I prefer "common knowledge" to "common sense".  
(03-20-2016, 01:49 PM)fredtoast Wrote: Yes.  I am a criminal defense attorney so I know a lot about the criminal justice system.

For example I know that what you are suggesting has been tried in the past and it failed.  Plus it would cost more money.

That is why I prefer "common knowledge" to "common sense".  
Fair enough.

I never said it was a "new" concept.

It certainly would cost more to have to supervise inmates and keep them working.

As you know, there are some people who actually volunteer for work when incarcerated.

Mostly because they want to have purpose or do something with the time.  Sometimes for other deviant reasons.

The system is flawed.  There is no denying that.  Some prisons have to be overhauled because of corruption within.

Just the fact that inmates can influence others and have a system within the prisons shows that they have too much time on their hands.

Those idle hands do nothing but create problems.  That is my opinion though.

You have good inmates that participate in worthy programs so I'm not condemning them or the reform process.

Its those who choose to do something other than to improve or change their ways of thinking I have issue with.

They should not have that choice...  and if they do choose to opt out, they should be put to hard labor.