Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Zeitler - All Pro or Free Agent?
I have seen many on here discuss our starting guard Zeitler in various threads, discussing whether we will keep him long term or look for a replacement.

Some say he is good, some say not so good.

I am somewhere in the middle, I think he is serviceable, but I'm not very good at judging lineman anyways.

Here is an article from Bengals.com about Zeitler trying to be the best guard in the NFL. http://blogs.bengals.com/2015/06/03/zeitler-on-quest-to-be-the-best/

They compare him to Munoz and say he is the hardest worker on the team (even harder than Whit??)

So my question to you guys is, how good is Zeitler really, and can he be an all pro guard for us for the second half of this decade?
OR
Like some have said, is he replaceable with the new offensive talent we have nabbed in the draft?

ALSO how does giving Zeitler a contract fit into the long term goals of this offensive unit? We just signed Boling, and to me, if you want to keep Zeitler you have to let either Whit or Andre walk.

The struggles of having too many good linemen Cry
Reply/Quote
He's very good. One of the strongest interior guys out there. By far our best run blocker.

He doesn't, however, fit the mold of a ZBS guy, he plays best in a phone booth and not in space, the last 3 Olinemen we've drafted have the opposite skillset, so I hope that's not a sign that Z isn't in our long term plans.
Reply/Quote
(06-03-2015, 03:04 PM)GreenCornBengal Wrote: I have seen many on here discuss our starting guard Zeitler in various threads, discussing whether we will keep him long term or look for a replacement.

I am somewhere in the middle, I think he is serviceable, but I'm not very good at judging lineman anyways.

Here is an article from Bengals.com about Zeitler trying to be the best guard in the NFL. http://blogs.bengals.com/2015/06/03/zeitler-on-quest-to-be-the-best/