Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
zucchini relish
I just made some absolutely amazing zucchini relish. I mean it's out of this world good. I've canned green beans, bread and butter pickles and salsa for years. But I'm a noob at relish. I tried some end of garden relish last year and it was just so-so.

But this stuff, just WOW! It's a sweet relish kinda puts you in mind of bread n butter pickle taste.

I made some sweet pickles this year as well that are really good. Sorta like sweet gherkin taste.

Anyways,
[Image: 4CV0TeR.png]
Reply/Quote
Why you taunting us with something we can’t have lol.

Sounds really tasty!
-The only bengals fan that has never set foot in Cincinnati 1-15-22
Reply/Quote
(08-09-2023, 11:51 AM)basballguy Wrote: Why you taunting us with something we can’t have lol.  

Sounds really tasty!

Oh that zucchini relish is the bomb
Reply/Quote
Recipe? I'm intrigued as I can't say I've heard of zucc relish before. And while my kids love making zucchini bread with all 500 of the fruits from that plant, I'd like to expand their horizons a bit! And I'm the one who has to make the bread and I'm tired of it...
Reply/Quote
(08-09-2023, 06:30 PM)MileHighGrowler Wrote: Recipe?  I'm intrigued as I can't say I've heard of zucc relish before.  And while my kids love making zucchini bread with all 500 of the fruits from that plant, I'd like to expand their horizons a bit!  And I'm the one who has to make the bread and I'm tired of it...

Yep

I like zucchini bread, but once I've had a couple slices, I'm done for a couple weeks. 

12 cups shredded (with a hand grater) zucchini. I always leave most of the green skin on. It's probably about 1 1/2 - 2 homegrown zucchini's. The little store bought ones would be a bunch.

3 cups chopped onions. (I used the little white ones in bulk bags) And I use an onion chopper thingy.

5 tablespoons canning salt

6 cups white sugar

2 1/2 cups white vinegar

1 red and 1 green bell pepper chopped. 

1 tablespoon cornstarch