Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Financial Dilemma
My wife and I both make good money. I am a software engineer/developer and she is a school counselor. Her parents are VERY well off.

She had a family meeting with just her and her family over the weekend and came home and told me that her parents are going to be giving her/us $2,000 a month. I guess they have so much money they don't know what to do with it and they want the ones around them to live a better life. They think this will help and free us up financially. Her dad wants us to have the things he couldnt afford or couldnt have when he was our age (30).

I am honestly not sure what I think about it. We don't necessarily need the money (we save money each month and live comfortably) but more money is always good. I HATE handouts and its almost emasculating in a way. I want to provide for my wife and my daughter and dont want anyone else's money. I am really struggling with it. Part of me is appreciative and it will make life easier, but part of me doesn't want any part of it.

If anyone else ever found out about this (family/friends/etc) im not sure how I would feel. I would be totally embarrassed.

What are your guys' thoughts?
[Image: Screenshot-2022-02-02-154836.png]
The boys are just talkin' ball, babyyyy
Reply/Quote
If you had money what would you rather do than give it to your children?

Take it and be happy. They are just doing what most parents would do in that same situation. They know you will get it when they die, so instead they want you to have it to enjoy right now.

If you were broke or struggling I could see you feeling "emasculated" but this is nothing like that.
Reply/Quote
(04-01-2019, 05:09 PM)fredtoast Wrote: If you had money what would you rather do than give it to your children?

Take it and be happy.  They are just doing what most parents would do in that same situation.  They know you will get it when they die, so instead they want you to have it to enjoy right now.