Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
It will happen!
Hey guys!

This is my first time posting a thread, but I thought I'd just share something special from the weekend.

I'm from Australia, and on Saturday, my Richmond Tigers won the AFL Grand Final. It's been 37 years since we last won one and I haven't really slept much over the weekend so excuse my poor grammar Yawn. I'm only 22 so I wasn't alive when we last won a flag (Grand Final), so this has been a pretty special weekend for me and my family.

Anyway, my point is this:

It will happen for us. I promise you all, it will happen. There will be a day where we all sit in these boards and laugh and joke and it will be the greatest day of your lives. You'll talk about the players like they're your own children, or your own brothers.

There are a couple of similarities between the Bengals and the Tigers (Starting with the name)
- Richmond made the finals 4 years in a row and lost in the first round
- Didn't make the finals in 2016, finished 13th out of 18 teams.
- Talented first 5 or 6 players but needed middle-tier guys to stand up.
- Same 4 or 5 teams have played in the last 6 or so Grand Finals, so we were out of the loop.
- Questioned leadership and hunger of captain (Dalton-like)
- Completely different game plan brought in by new Assistant Coach (same head coach, but he was almost sacked)
- Removal of a few cancerous locker-room characters (But keep guys who love the group and want to be there)

I know you're probably thinking "Shut up kid, you've only been a Bengals fan for 8 years, what would you know about Cincinnati"... But I can tell you that I know the pain because I've felt it across 3 sporting teams, but the success is all worth it. Do not give up on them, and it'll be the best decision you've ever made :andy:
Reply/Quote
(10-03-2017, 12:01 AM)ben_lewtas9 Wrote: Hey guys!

This is my first time posting a thread, but I thought I'd just share something special from the weekend.