Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Who played football?
Hey all.  I graduated from HS in 1989 as an under-sized LB.  Played 2 years of semi-pro ball as corner and safety (once in 1993 as a spritely youth and in 2002 as "the old dude at 33".  Just curious who else?

Questions:
1.  Who else played advanced ball?
2.  What position did you play?
3.  Given your experience how does that factor into your view of Bengals?

1.  Yes, semi-pro (They did not pay me)
2.  Defensive back
3.  I don't get the hype about the QB being the being face for Bengals.  Or for Dalton being at fault for the overall team.  In my semi-pro teams QB was just a member of team.  Did not view him as overall fault or credit.  We were ranked #2 at one point nationally in my Dayton Steelers semipro team in 1993 (hated the team name :)

Others?
Reply/Quote
I played High School football for Franklin (OH) and college football at Carson-Newman College, a D-II school in east Tennessee. I never really played much in college and was only there a couple of years, but they had some great coaches. Their head coach was Ken Sparks. He is the winningest coach in D-II history. He won 5 National Championships when they were NAIA and has played in the D-II Championship game 3 times. He has made the playoffs 24 times in his 34 years as a head coach.

I was successful at football in high school because I loved the game so much and worked so hard at it. But in college I just didn't have the skills to play. What they did at Carson Newman was take undersized guys from high school and plan on them getting bigger for a couple of years before they played. It would have been a long hard grind for me, and I had to also make good enough grads to get in grad school. So I abandoned my football career, changed schools, and started partying all the time.